The Unseen (LP)





The Unseen was released in 2000, and turned into one of the new decade's first sleeper hits at a time when the producer and label were unknown outside of hip-hop DJ circles. The Unseen was Madlib's solo debut, but when the album premiered the identity of Quasimoto himself was a mystery. Maybe he was Madlib, maybe he wasn't. Maybe it's none of our business.

Madlib created Quasimoto as someone to rap on his beats for his own private listening while living in Oxnard and Santa Barbara in the 1990s. The Unseen was the result of Peanut Butter Wolf's convincing Madlib to release these recordings for the rest of the us to hear. Sleeve by Jeff Jank.


A1 Welcome To Violence
A2 Bad Character
A3 Microphone Mathematics
A4 Basic Instinct
A5 Goodmorning Sunshine
A6 Discipline 99 Pt.0 Featuring (Mr.Herb)
B7 Low Class Conspiracy
B8 Return Of The Loop Digga
B9 Real Eyes
B10 Come On Feet
B11 Bluffin
C12 Boom Music
C13 MHBs
C14 Put A Curse On You
C15 Astro Black
C16 Green Power
D17 Jazz Cats Pt. 1
D18 24-7 Featuring (Feat. Medaphoar)
D19 The Unseen
D20 Phony Game
D21 Astro Travellin