Freddie Gibbs & Madlib

Piñata (2xLP)





Vinyl Pressing. 2014 album from the rapper and producer. Freddie Gibbs is the product of violent, drug-laden streets but unlike most rappers with similar resumes, he brings the block to the booth without inhibition or an exaggerated rap persona. PINATA, a 17 track collaboration with producer Madlib, is the best distillation yet of his transparent approach to making music, combining an at times stark honesty with electrifying talent as a lyricist and performer. PINATA is 'a gangster Blaxploitation film on wax,' says Gibbs, who came up on the streets of Gary, Indiana, the disregarded city previously best known for producing Michael Jackson. Here he is joined by Mac Miller, Earl Sweatshirt, Raekwon, Scarface, Domo Genesis, Ab-Soul and a host of others in setting his soliloquies of the streets alongside film snippets and dusted Funk, Soul and Progressive musical tapestries.


A1 Supplier
A2 Scarface
A3 Deeper
A4 High (Feat. Danny Brown)
A5 Harold's
B1 Bomb (Feat. Raekwon)
B2 Shitsville
B3 Thuggin'
B4 Real
B5 Uno
C1 Robes (Feat. Domo Genesis & Earl Sweatshirt)
C2 Broken (Feat. Scarface)
C3 Lakers (Feat. Ab-Soul & Polyester The Saint)
D1 Knicks
D2 Shame (Feat. BJ The Chicago Kid)
D3 Watts (Feat. Big Time Watts)
D4 Piñata (Feat. Casey Veggies, Domo Genesis, G-Wiz, Mac Miller, Meechy Darko & Sulaiman)